The piw-remove script is used to manually remove a package (or a version of a package) from the system. All builds for the specified package (or version) will be forgotten, and all files generated by such builds will be deleted.
By default, the package (or version) removed will be deleted entirely (not marked to skip). Optionally, you can provide a skip reason; in this case the version will not be deleted (though its builds and files will), but will be left marked to skip to prevent future rebuilds.
piw-remove [-h] [--version] [-c FILE] [-q] [-v] [-l FILE] [-y] [-s REASON] [--import-queue ADDR] package [version]
The name of the package to remove
The version of the package to remove. If omitted, removes the entire package
- -h, --help¶
Show this help message and exit
Show program’s version number and exit
- -c FILE, --configuration FILE¶
Specify a configuration file to load
- -q, --quiet¶
Produce less console output
- -v, --verbose¶
Produce more console output
- -l FILE, --log-file FILE¶
Log messages to the specified file
- -y, --yes¶
Run non-interactively; never prompt during operation
- -s REASON, --skip REASON¶
Leave the version in place, but marked with a reason to prevent future build attempts
- --import-queue ADDR¶
The address of the queue used by piw-remove (default: (ipc:///tmp/piw-import); this should always be an ipc address
This utility is typically used in response to a request from a package maintainer to remove a specific build from the system. Usually because the presence of a piwheels build is causing issues in and of itself.
Older versions of piwheels didn’t heed PyPI deletion messages. This is no longer the case and this utility is no longer required to manually remove deleted packages.
The utility can be run in a batch mode with
--yes but still requires
invoking once per deletion required (you cannot remove multiple versions in a
The return code will be 0 if the package (or version) was successfully removed. If anything fails, the return code will be non-zero and no files should be deleted (but this cannot be guaranteed in all circumstances).
The utility should only ever be run directly on the master node (opening the import queue to other machines is a potential security risk).